How to Create a Gluten-Free Shopping List

How to Shop on a Gluten-Free Diet

About 1% of the population has celiac disease, which means they have an autoimmune reaction to gluten, a type of protein found in wheat.  This autoimmune reaction causes damage to the intestines - with even just a little bit of gluten in the diet.  Because of this, it is extremely important for these people to follow a strict gluten-free diet. 

When shopping for gluten free foods, check packaged items to make sure they do not use any wheat-containing ingredients.  As of 2014, the FDA set standards for foods labeled as “gluten-free,” so those items are safe for gluten-free shopping lists.  When in doubt, check the ingredient lists and watch out for any of the following items:

Wheat, including spelt, farro, durum, graham, Kamut, semolina and einkorn Oats - oats are naturally gluten-free but often processed in facilities with gluten
Rye Beers, lagers and ales
Barley, including malt flavoring and malt vingear Candies, dressings, soups and sauces
Pre-packaged meats - these meats may use fillers and binders that contain gluten
 
 
Here are some examples of foods that are safe to add to a gluten-free shopping list:
Gluten-Free Grains & Flours:
Rice, wild rice, sago, soy, potato, tapioca, sorghum, millet, quinoa, arrowroot, any type of bean
Single Ingredient Foods:
butter, milk, meat, fish, fruits and vegetables, honey, nuts
Gluten-Free Oats
Distilled alcoholic beverages:
vodka, gin, wines and gluten-free beers
 
 

gluten-free shopping list

 
 
It’s important to remember to shop for items that fit into a balanced diet when shopping gluten-free.  Look for the gluten-free shelf tags on products when shopping for easy identification of gluten-free items:
 
 
Here’s a shopping list to get you started… remember, this is just a sample of the many gluten-free products we offer!
 
 

Produce

  • Fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free, so fill your basket up with these items!
  • Salad dressings may use thickeners that contain gluten, so check labels for thickeners or sweeteners and words like “starch” or those that have “malt” in them. You’ll want to avoid these items. 

Meats, Fish & Poultry

 
 

Dairy

gluten free dairy products
 

Bakery

gluten free bakery items

Healthy Living

gluten free peanut butter

Frozen Foods

gluten free dairy products

  • Frozen fruits and vegetables are just frozen versions of their raw and gluten-free selves, but check labels for frozen vegetable items that come with sauces just in case those sauces are made with gluten-containing thickeners or sweeteners.  
  • Gluten-Free Options

Cereals, Grains and Mixes

Gluten Free Pancake Mix

Soups and Broths

gluten free soup
 
 
Ship gluten-free products straight to your doorstep.