Foods that contain gluten:
- Graham flour
- Matzo meal
- Spelt (a form of wheat)
Avoid unless labeled gluten-free:
People suffering from a wheat allergy or celiac disease should avoid these foods unless they're labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain. Also check the label (or the H-E-B Gluten-Free Product List) to make sure that they're processed in a facility that is free of wheat or other contaminating products:
- Cakes and pies
- Imitation meats or seafood
- Processed luncheon meats
- Salad dressings
- Sauces (including soy sauce)
- Self-basting poultry
Did You Know? There's a difference between a wheat allergy and gluten-intolerance.
These are two distinct conditions. Having gluten intolerance, or celiac disease, is a permanent sensitivity to gluten. It's not a food allergy. Gluten is part of wheat, barley and rye. These grains and their by-products must be strictly avoided by those with celiac disease for their entire life. (Look for food options labeled as gluten-free). For those without celiac disease avoiding gluten carries no health benefit.
Those with a wheat allergy, most commonly children, have an abnormal immune response to wheat protein. These individuals must only avoid wheat and most often outgrow the allergy.
For both groups, shopping the perimeter of the store gives fresh food options that are usually wheat-or gluten-free. The inner aisles need to be shopped with care, however wheat-free and gluten-free products are becoming more available. Just be sure to read your labels!
Try these gluten-free pasta recipes!
Learn more about shopping gluten-free at H-E-B.