Avoiding everyday products with gluten is simpler if you know what gluten is and where it is commonly found.
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a term for a combination of protein fragments found in many grains. Gluten is commonly found in rye, wheat,
barley, triticale (a cross between wheat and rye) and any triticum species such as spelt or kamut.
Therefore, it is found in most cereals and in many types of bread. Not all foods from the grain family,
however, contain gluten. Examples include rice, corn, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, quinoa and oats. Oats can,
however, be contaminated with gluten as they are often produced in facilities that process other wheat products.
Why Gluten Free?
There is no treatment for celiac disease. Rather, it is managed through diet. Other individuals require gluten-free
living for various reasons such as wheat allergies or other digestive disorders.
What Foods/Ingredients are Appropriate for a Gluten-Free Diet?
Naturally Gluten-Free Foods
- Fresh, unseasoned fruits & vegetables
- Plain, unseasoned meat, poultry, fish, eggs, nuts, peas and beans
- Plain milk
- Naturally gluten free grains like amaranth, buckwheat, rice, corn, potato, tapioca, bean, sorghum, soy, arrowroot, quinoa, nut flours or wild rice
Foods that Contain Gluten
- Wheat in all its forms (durum, semolina, etc.), rye, barley, spelt, triticale, kamut, farina and possibly oats.
- Oats do not normally contain wheat or gluten ingredients, but risk of contamination is significant. Look for oats that specify they are gluten free or avoid them altogether.
- Gluten-free foods prepared in areas where gluten-containing flours or bread crumbs are used or displayed have the potential for cross-contact and may not be safe.
- Cookies, service salads, and prepared food cases are examples of service areas where cross-contact might occur.
- All baked goods (including bread and pizza crusts), unless prepared with gluten-free flours
- Some baking powders
- Most batter-fried foods
- Flour-thickened sauces, casseroles, and gravies
- Canned soup and chili
- Cereal (both hot and cold)
- Salad dressings, barbecue sauce, soy sauce and other condiments
- Candy (especially with nougat)
- Sausage, meatloaf and other dishes where breadcrumbs are used as filler
If you're on a gluten-free diet, only use products where "gluten free" is clearly stated on the label. If you have questions about a particular product, contact the manufacturer.
- Brown rice syrup
- Flour or cereal products
- Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
- Vegetable protein
- Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
- Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
- Malt or malt flavoring
- Modified food starch or modified starch
- Natural and artificial flavors
- Soy sauce or soy sauce solids