It's important to remember that just because a food is gluten-free does not make it low in fat or sugar.
Foods that contain gluten:
Avoid unless labeled gluten-free:
People suffering from a wheat allergy or celiac disease should avoid these foods unless they're labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain. Also check the label (or the H-E-B Gluten-Free Product List) to make sure that they're processed in a facility that is free of wheat or other contaminating products:
Did You Know? There's a difference between a wheat allergy and gluten-intolerance.
For both groups, shopping the perimeter of the store gives fresh food options that are usually wheat-or gluten-free. The inner aisles need to be shopped with care, however wheat-free and gluten-free products are becoming more available. Just be sure to read your labels!
Try these gluten-free pasta recipes!
Learn more about shopping gluten-free at H-E-B.